New zone!

We’re aware that currently we are unable to travel and meet as we would like.  In response to this we have created this new Regions zone where we can round-up what people are doing in different areas.  In addition, there are some regional contacts.  If you have any content that you believe belongs here, please email martyn.thompson@nhs.net.  Thanks.


Appointment of the Regional Healthcare Science Clinical Leads for the Office of the Chief Scientific Officer England

NHS England and NHS Improvement and the Chief Scientific Officer for England are pleased to announce the appointments of the Regional Healthcare Science Clinical Leads. The Regional Clinical Leads will work as part of a regional health system to enable science to transform the way healthcare science services are delivered in the regions.

The Regional Clinical Leads will work collaboratively with the Chief Scientific Officer and Deputy Chief Scientific Officer to provide scientific advice on national programmes, develop effective strategies for promoting and enhancing healthcare science across the region and nationally, and provide strong leadership and champion the role of healthcare scientists and science within the health system.

The Regional Clinical Leads across the regions are:
• North East and Yorkshire – Harriet Crook; harriet.crook@nhs.net
• North West – Michelle Foster; michelle.foster10@nhs.net
• East Midlands – Claire Greaves; claire.greaves6@nhs.net
• West Midlands – Peter Bill; peter.bill@nhs.net
• East of England – Jagjit Sethi; jagjit.sethi@nhs.net
• London – Ruth Thomsen; ruth.thomsen@nhs.net
• South East – Anna Barnes; anna.barnes1@nhs.net
• South West – Sarah Cooper; sarah.cooper58@nhs.net

Chief Scientific Officer, Professor Dame Sue Hill said “It is with great pleasure that the Office of the Chief Scientific Officer in collaboration with the Regional Medical Directors have successfully appointed Regional Healthcare Science Clinical Leads for the NHS England and NHS Improvement Regions. This is a significant step in the recognition of Healthcare Science and the importance of this workforce to the leadership of the Regional teams. We look forward to welcoming them all into the Chief Scientific Officer’s Clinical Leadership Team and to working with them to deliver the priorities of their Regions.”